Calhoun County
Texas Historical Marker

Formed from Jackson, Matagorda, and Victoria counties; created April 4, 1846 - organized July 13, 1846. Named in honor of John Caldwell Calhoun 1782-1850. A distinguished southern statesman, a member of Congress and of the cabinet. Vice-president of the United State, 1825-1832. Port Lavaca is the county seat.

Copyright 2010 Texmaps and Carson Map Company, Inc. All Rights Reserved