Calhoun County

Including Port Lavaca, Seadrift
and Port O'Connor

"Home of Big Sails and Big Fish Tales"

Calhoun County is located in the center of the Texas Gulf Coast. It is home to the popular tourist destinations of Port Lavaca,
Port O'Connor and Seadrift.

The main part of Calhoun County is a peninsula that is surrounded by bays on three sides -
Lavaca Bay, Matagorda Bay, Espiritu Santo Bay and San Antonio Bay). There are also several smaller bay's and the estuaries created by the Guadalupe, San Antonio and Lavaca Rivers. This system of bays is connected to the Gulf by the largest natural deep water pass on the Texas coast, the historic Pass Cavallo.

Port Lavaca is the largest city in the county and is located on Lavaca Bay. Seadrift is on San Antonio Bay and Port 0' Connor is located where Matagorda Bay and Espiritu Santo Bay meet near Pass Cavallo.

Most of Calhoun County is protected from the Gulf by Matagorda Island. Matagorda Island is one of the most unspoiled areas on the Texas coast. The island is a combination of a National Wildlife Refuge and State Natural Area that is only accessible by boat. It is home to 19 state or federally listed threatened or endangered species, a large herd of white-tailed deer, alligators and other wildlife.

With hundreds of square miles of bays and estuaries and an abundance of wildlife, Calhoun County is a paradise for sportsmen and nature lovers. Check out the links below for more information.


Home   Previous Page
Bookmark and Share

The Little Jetties at Port O'Connor


Return to
Home Page

Copyright © Texmaps and Carson Map Company, Inc. All Rights Reserved