Originally located at the corner of Waco and Comanche Streets, this colonial revival home was built in 1907-08 for the family of Asa Milton and Frances Garrett French. A. M. French (1850-1936), a native of New Hampshire, was a surveyor and civil engineer. He settled in Corpus Christi in 1882 after working on the construction of the Texas-Mexican railroad and became an active civic leader. The home was acquired by Rafael Galvan (1887-1966) in 1942. Galvan was a Corpus Christi policeman for 20 years and was a founder and charter member of the league of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC). A prominent businessman as well, he also opened a popular ballroom. The home remained in the Galvan family for 40 years.
The french galvan house is a two story structure with a wraparound gallery on each floor. The first story boasts ionic columns. The central dormer on the hipped roof features a palladian window and is surrounded by a balustrade. The classical ionic order is also featured at the front entryway. The Corpus Christi landmark was moved to this site in 1983.