The community of Robstown developed around the traffic generated by the junction of the Texas-Mexican and the St. Louis, Brownsville, & Mexico railroads. In 1914 C. C. Brendle and V. V. Elick purchased land at this site for the purpose of constructing a hotel as close as possible to the railroad station. Completed the same year, the hotel Brendle opened with 36 rooms and became a center of activity for the community. For many years the hotel provided space for traveling salesmen to display their goods. C. C. Brendle (1859-1929) was a local gin operator, developer, and area farmer who came to Robstown in 1908. His partner in the hotel, V. V. Elick, also was a partner in his gin interests.
The hotel passed out of the hands of the Brendle Family during the great depression and later was owned by the Sons of Hermann, a German fraternal organization. Interesting architectural features of the three-story hotel include a brick parapet, a red tile roof supported on brackets, and a semi-circular arch over the doorway. The Hotel Brendle stands as a reminder of Robstown's early commercial growth.