Goliad Pharmacy & Gifts
Est. in 1870… blending old fashioned service with modern technology
On The Square
236 S. Commercial
Visit our Website
Email Goliad Pharmacy & Gifts
With 139 years of experience to its credit, Goliad Pharmacy & Gifts is just as much a community icon as it is a business. Opened in 1870, as Baker Drugstore, this pharmacy is one of the oldest pharmacies in Texas. Baker Drugstore was located on the south side of the Courthouse square and was destroyed by fire in 1915. Later it moved to the west side to its present location. In 1925 L.H. Von Dohlen purchased Baker Drugstore and renamed it Von Dohlen-Byrd Pharmacy when the business was incorporated with City Drug, owned by Truston Byrd. In 1990 Goliad Pharmacy & Gifts became its new name, under the ownership of Gary Patrick and co-owner Tim Von Dohlen.
Whether it's for a birthday, illness or just to say "hi", choose from a large selection of greeting cards, complemented with such gift choices as Ty Beanie Babies, candles, picture frames, jewelry, clocks, purses, adorable baby gifts, cookbooks, dish towels, kitchenware, western/country decor, crystal, class rings, personalized wedding/graduation invitations, balloons and lots of unique home decor items. Goliad Pharmacy & Gifts also offers bridal and baby gift registries and free gift wrapping with a minimum purchase. If you are in the area in the months of October-December don't miss our luxurious and fun Christmas trees and tabletop for your decorating ideas!
For a charming atmosphere and friendly service stop by Goliad Pharmacy & Gifts for your next prescription refill or gift for a special occasion.
Accepting most insurance plans. Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics and Supplies Accredited.
Medicare provider for all your diabetic testing supplies.
Delivery within the city limits.
Mon-Fri 8am 6pm
Pharmacist on Duty 9am-6pm
Pharmacist on duty 9am-1pm
Map This Site!
The Historic Past
of Goliad Texas
Remember Goliad! ~ Remember the Alamo!
In 1722, the Spanish established the Presidio La Bahía and Mission Espiritu Santo near the site of the failed Fort St Louis. The Mission and Presidio had a dual purpose, to minister to local Indians and to prevent further incursion by the French into Spanish territory.
In 1749, the Mission and Fort were moved to this location, so that they could better protect the main road between Mexico and East Texas -
El Camino Real de los Tejas.
The Presidio was called La Bahía (The Bay) because it was originally located on Lavaca Bay and once it was moved, the town that grew up around the Fort became known as La Bahía. The priests at the Mission Espiritu Santo and the local settlers raised livestock on the areas fertile lands. The Mission and the small town prospered and some estimates are that total number of cattle and horses belonging to the mission and the settlers may have reached 40,000. Because of this, Goliad is known as the birthplace of Texas ranching.
In 1829, the name of the town was changed to Goliad, an anagram of the name of Father Hidalgo, the priest who instigated the Mexican independence movement. On March 24, 1829, Ignacio Seguín Zaragoza was born in a small stone house outside the fort. He went on to become one of Mexico's greatest military heroes.
In October of 1835 at the beginning of the Texas War of Independence, Texas forces captured the Presidio. On December 20 ninety two men gathered in the Our Lady of Loreto Chapel at the fort and signed the First Texas Declaration of Independence. Afterwards, they raised the severed arm and bloody sword flag over the fort, now known as the Goliad Flag.
In February of 1836, Colonel James Walker Fannin took command of the Presidio which was now being called Fort Defiance. After the fall of the Alamo, Fannin was ordered to retreat to Victoria. But before he and his men could make their escape, they were captured, imprisoned and then executed in what became known as the Goliad Massacre.
Follow the links below for more information about the History of the Goliad area.
Colonel James Walker Fannin